Peakon and Culture Amp are both quote-only, so the website comparison most buyers try to run ends before it starts. What the two vendors do put in writing is different enough to decide most shortlists. Workday prices Peakon per employee per year on a 3-year term with the whole headcount committed and deployment sold separately. Culture Amp says its price depends on employee count, product and service tier, bills annually, and folds implementation project management into its mid-size service tier. If you are not on Workday HCM, that contract shape usually matters more than any feature row.
Everything below was read on 10 September 2026 from the vendors' own material: Culture Amp's plans and pricing page and FAQ, and for Peakon, Workday's product pages, its product documentation, and the pricing documents Workday filed for the UK government G-Cloud 14 framework. Where a figure is ours rather than theirs, we say so.
Is Peakon or Culture Amp cheaper?
Neither vendor publishes a US price, so nobody can honestly tell you which is cheaper from the outside. Culture Amp states its pricing depends on the number of employees, the product chosen and the service tier. Workday publishes Peakon rates only in its UK public sector framework filing, per employee per year. Your two quotes are the only real answer.
You will find dollar comparisons anyway. They come from negotiation consultancies and review aggregators, and they disagree with each other on the unit as well as the amount: some quote per employee per month, some per employee per year. Workday's own filing is per employee per year, so check the unit on any number before it goes into a budget. We cover what that filing contains, band by band, on our breakdown of Workday Peakon pricing and licensing terms, and the matching page on Culture Amp pricing sets out exactly what Culture Amp discloses and what it does not.
What you can compare before a single call is the contract shape, and that is where the two vendors genuinely differ.
Peakon vs Culture Amp at a glance
| What the vendor states | Workday Peakon Employee Voice | Culture Amp |
|---|---|---|
| Published US price | None. UK G-Cloud 14 framework rates only, in GBP per employee per year | None. Every product routes to "Request a quote" |
| How price is set | Per employee per year, by headcount band starting at 600 employees in the filing | Number of employees, product chosen and service tier |
| Term and billing | Filing pricing is based on a 3-year subscription term | All products billed on an annual basis (term length not stated) |
| Headcount commitment | Entire current employee population for the whole term; added employees cost extra | Not stated on the pricing page |
| Implementation | Not included in subscription; fixed-fee deployment packages sold separately | Service tier dependent; 200 to 999 employee tier includes expert project management with implementation |
| Products | Employee listening: engagement, health and well-being, diversity and inclusion, transformation and change question sets, plus custom questions | Engage (surveys, pulse, retention insights, benchmarking) and Perform (reviews, calibration, 1-on-1s, goals), with People Science Consulting as an add-on |
| Works without Workday HCM | Yes, standalone permitted; native HRIS integrations for Workday, bob, BambooHR and Personio | Yes; every plan lists HRIS integrations |
| Chat tools | Slack and Microsoft Teams | Slack and Microsoft Teams |
| Free trial | Not available, per Workday's marketplace listing | Not offered on the pricing page; demo and quote only |
Read that table as a list of questions for your two sales calls rather than as a scorecard. Several Culture Amp cells say "not stated" because Culture Amp's page does not address them, which is not the same as the answer being favorable.
Can you use Peakon without Workday?
Yes. Workday's own marketplace listing says Peakon can be extended with Workday Human Capital Management or used as a standalone service. Its documentation names native HRIS integrations for Workday, bob, BambooHR and Personio, plus Sapling and Namely, with SSO through Okta, Azure Active Directory or SAML 2.0. You do not need to be a Workday shop to buy it.
What changes outside Workday is the value case. The strongest thing Workday says about Peakon is that sentiment data blends with HCM data for analysis inside Workday's own analytics tools. If your people data lives in bob or BambooHR, you still get the listening platform, the benchmarks and the manager dashboards, but that blended-data argument mostly does not apply to you. Culture Amp was never part of an HCM suite, so its pitch does not depend on which HRIS you run.
If your organization is on Workday HCM and plans to stay there, Peakon has a structural advantage no independent vendor can match, and you should weigh it honestly. The rest of this article is mostly for everyone else.
How long is the contract for each?
Workday's G-Cloud 14 filing prices Peakon on a 3-year subscription term, with the commitment covering your entire current employee population for the whole term. Culture Amp states that all its products are billed annually but does not publish a term length. US terms for both are negotiated, so ask each vendor for minimum term, renewal notice period and price escalation in writing.
The Peakon commitment is the clause to read twice. Added employees are charged at an additional per-headcount cost, and the filing describes no way to reduce the committed count. A company of 900 that shrinks to 700 in year two would, on that reading, still be paying for 900. If a reorganization is plausible in the next three years, true-down rights are worth more to you than a few points of discount on the rate.
Which one includes implementation?
Culture Amp ties implementation to service tier. Its pricing page lists group customer success for organizations under 200 employees, adds a one-on-one customer success partnership and expert project management with implementation from 200 to 999 employees, and adds manager and executive training, a results call with a People Scientist and coaching for enterprises over 1,000.
Workday takes the opposite approach. Its filing states that education, training and deployment services are not included in Peakon subscription fees, and its professional services document prices Peakon deployment as fixed-fee packages, from £12,000 for Launch ME Base to £55,000 for Your Way Premium on the UK framework, with optional adoption packages and travel and expenses on top. Neither figure is a US quote, but both confirm the line exists. When you compare first-year cost, put Peakon's deployment package and Culture Amp's service tier on the same row, or the comparison flatters whichever vendor you priced without services.
Is Culture Amp or Peakon better for a company under 1,000 employees?
On the vendors' own terms, Culture Amp is built with more visible room for that size. Its pricing page defines service tiers for under 200 and 200 to 999 employees. Workday's framework filing lists no Peakon band below 600 employees and gives the highest per-employee rate to the 600 to 1,000 band, with a three-year full-headcount commitment on top.
That does not mean Peakon will not sell to a company of 400. It means a company of 400 negotiates without any reference point, while a company of 5,000 sits in a band where volume pricing is already doing real work. Scope matters too: Culture Amp's Perform product covers performance reviews and goals, and Peakon is a listening platform, so a mid-size company that wants reviews and engagement in one contract is comparing different purchases.
What should you check before signing either?
Four things decide more deals than features do. First, the unit: headcount committed against people surveyed. Second, the term: three years full-population is a very different risk from annual billing. Third, services: which deployment package or service tier is inside the quote. Fourth, security review, which both vendors will go through because engagement survey comments are among the most sensitive text a company collects.
Culture Amp's FAQ lists GDPR, CCPA and ISO 27001, and says it recently obtained SOC 2 Type I. Workday's framework filing names its Master Subscription Agreement, Security Exhibit and Data Processing Exhibit as the contract documents. Your security team will want each vendor's attestation set against your own requirements, and that review goes much faster when your company already keeps its SOC 2 and ISO 27001 control mapping current, because the answers come from a maintained control set rather than from whoever filled in the last questionnaire.
Is there an option that is neither?
Yes, if the problem you actually need solved is a diagnosis rather than a listening program. Both Peakon and Culture Amp are built to run continuously for years. If leadership first needs to know where the organization stands, not only on engagement but on process, technology, skills and compliance, a one-off scored assessment against an industry benchmark answers that before you commit to a multi-year platform.
That is what Assessmentcloud does. It scores culture and engagement, process maturity, digital maturity, skills gaps and compliance readiness into one 0 to 100 report against the industry median, with a prioritized action plan. It is not a continuous listening platform, it does not replace Peakon's attrition prediction or Culture Amp's performance tools, and the report is diagnostic input rather than a certified audit. For the full field of options if you are leaving Peakon, see Workday Peakon alternatives, and for Culture Amp specifically, Culture Amp alternatives.
The decision in one paragraph
If you run Workday HCM and want listening data inside it for years, Peakon's structure is the price of that integration, so negotiate the band reading, the true-down rights and the deployment package rather than the vendor. If you are not on Workday, the 3-year full-headcount commitment in Workday's own filing is the single biggest difference between the two, and Culture Amp's annual billing and size-based service tiers will usually be easier to fit. In both cases, get the term, the committed headcount and the services line in writing before you compare a single per-employee number. Our summary of employee engagement software pricing shows how those numbers add up across the rest of the market.
RUN IT, NOT JUST READ IT
Score this dimension for your company
The interactive sample readout on the homepage shows exactly what you get: scored dimensions, industry benchmarks, and a prioritized action plan. Flat pricing from $49 a month.